AKADEMIE DER KÜNSTE

Press Release

13.11.2021

Jeanine Meerapfel and Kathrin Röggla to continue their work as President and Vice-President of the Akademie der Künste for a further three years

Election results of the 57th General Assembly of the Akademie der Künste

The members of the Akademie der Künste re-elected filmmaker **Jeanine Meerapfel** and writer and playwright **Kathrin Röggla** as President and Vice-President for the second time by a large majority today, 13 November 2021. They have both headed the Akademie der Künste since 2015. The Directors and Deputy Directors of the six Sections were also newly elected. Together with the President and Vice-President, they form the Senate of the Akademie der Künste, which consults and decides on all of the institution's projects.

Visual Arts Section: Karin Sander (Director) and Arnold Dreyblatt (Deputy Director) Architecture Section: Fritz Frenkler (Director) and HG Merz (Deputy Director) Music Section: Carola Bauckholt (Director) and Iris ter Schiphorst (Deputy Director) Literature Section: Kerstin Hensel (Director) and Cécile Wajsbrot (Deputy Director) Performing Arts Section: Nele Hertling (Director) and Christian Grashof (Deputy Director) Film and Media Arts Section: Thomas Heise (Director) and Helke Misselwitz (Deputy Director)

Carola Bauckholt, Arnold Dreyblatt, Fritz Frenkler, HG Merz, Karin Sander, Iris ter Schiphorst and Cécile Wajsbrot are new to the Akademie Senate. Wulf Herzogenrath and Birgit Hein (Visual Arts Section), Matthias Sauerbruch and Jörn Walter (Architecture Section), Manos Tsangaris and Samir Odeh-Tamimi (Music Section) and Ulrich Peltzer (Literature Section) have stepped down from the Senate.

According to the statutes, all offices are open to re-election two times. The terms of office are three years respectively. The Akademie der Künste currently has 398 international members in its six Sections, namely Visual Arts, Architecture, Music, Literature, Performing Arts and Film and Media Arts. The members newly elected today, are only announced once they have confirmed their election.

Press and Public Relations

Pariser Platz 4 10117 Berlin T +49 (0)30 200 57–15 14 F +49 (0)30 200 57–15 08 presse@adk.de www.adk.de

AKADEMIE DER KÜNSTE

Biographical information is available at <u>www.adk.de</u> and in the <u>members' database</u> of the Akademie der Künste.

Further information: www.meerapfel.de, www.kathrin-roeggla.de

Press photos are available online to download.

Press contact: Anette Schmitt, schmitt@adk.de

Press and Public Relations

Pariser Platz 4 10117 Berlin T +49 (0)30 200 57–15 14 F +49 (0)30 200 57–15 08 presse@adk.de www.adk.de